Clothing Blogs (aka Snooze City Post)

Sorry I’ve been absent lately.  I’ve been busy busy.  Not only did I travel for five days to North Carolina, which is a LAND OF DREAMS compared to the frozen snow hell I’ve been living in, but upon return, I received three (3!) new New Yorkers AND A HARPERS that I’ve had to read.  I’ve also had to play Settlers of Catan four times.   What good times.  Anyway.

Something I’ve been thinking about too much lately, because I have been using the internet too much lately, is how there are a whole lot of good menswear blogs, and I enjoy reading them even though  I do not wear mens clothing regularly.  These include Put This On (Jesse Thorn is my favorite internet/public radio semi-celebrity), A Continuous LeanArchival Clothing,   Nerd Boyfriend, Street Etiquette, and of course the dress and grooming section of The Art of Manliness.

The reason these are good is because they aren’t unfashionable, but they aren’t about fashion.  They talk about quality of clothing and kinds of clothing and why certain clothings are the way they are and what different fabrics do.  My question is: Are there womens clothing blogs like this?  And if there aren’t, why not?  I’ve been thinking about this and I think it might be that there are very few classic womens clothing pieces.  Women’s clothing in our culture has been driven by fashion since before mass production of ready-to-wear clothing was even in existence.   But I’m certain that its possible to dress with style without adhering to current fashion.  And I’ve never been good at either of those things.  So this is why I need someone to tell me how to make these decisions responsibly, the way that thousands of men are eased through the process daily through the myriad blogs there to help them.

I’m not sure what I’m getting at here.  Alls I know is I like a quality leather in my shoe, a quality natural fiber in my sweater, and a quality a-line skirt.   And I want to buy clothing that lasts, not clothing that I’m going to want to get rid of in a year because it looks dated OR because I bought it at H&M or Urban Outfitters or Target and it broke.  But I don’t want to dress like a prarie woman because I am short and stout.   I want some like-minded individuals to talk about this with.

(I realize this isn’t terribly important.  This was all sparked by a trip to the worst place on earth this weekend, an abomination in “urban” development, a monument to the perversion of “new urbanism,” The Streets at Southpoint, a mall in Durham, NC that is made to make you feel better about going to a mall.)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Clothing Blogs (aka Snooze City Post)

  1. rebecca dunning

    we need to talk about this more. i think, in fact: i know, you are on to something.

  2. Benji

    ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

Leave a Reply

